Our District

Our District

Texas Congressional District 36

Texas CD-36 includes Newton, Jasper, Tyler, Polk, Orange, Hardin, Liberty, and Chambers counties, plus portions of southeastern Harris County.

Our District is home to:

Map of Texas Congressional District 36 Boundaries
Texas Congressional District 36


In 2018, Texas voters will elect 36 candidates to serve in the U.S. House, one from each of the state’s 36 congressional districts. There are two elections for the U.S. House of Representatives:

  1. The primary election on March 6, 2018 (early voting February 20 – March 2, 2018).
  2. The general election on November 6, 2018 (early voting October 22 – November 2, 2018).

The primary election is a state-level election that takes place prior to a general election.¬†Texas utilizes an open primary system where voters do not have to register with a party. At the primary, a voter may choose which party primary ballot to vote on. The voter must declare that he or she will not vote in another party’s primary or convention that year.

In the¬†primary election, registered voters will select their political party’s candidate to run in the general election. In addition, the primary is used to choose convention delegates and party leaders.

You must register to vote by February 5, 2018 to take part in these elections. You do not have to vote in the primary election to vote in the general election.

Here for you

Our District has diverse needs and shared values. I am practical and focused on our community. I will hear what you have to say. I am Jon Powell and I am here for you.